Board of Directors

CGS is proud to introduce the members of our 2020 Board. Most of them know personally the pain of loss and have experienced the healing power of one of our support groups. That is why they believe so strongly in our Mission and want to give of their time and energies to ensure that healing is available to others.


Peggy R. Hicks
Finance Manager
I-20 Truck Sales, LLC

Vice Chair

Martha S. Barber, EdD
New Hope Christian School


Deb Kattus
Retired Teacher
Mountain Brook Schools


Robert M. House (Bob)
Retired Executive
House Consultants

Jerry C. Boles, CPA
Retired Executive

Steven A. Brickman
Dentons Sirote

Robert Butler
Retired Project Manager
Jeffcoat & Associates, LP

Richard E. “Dick” Coffee, III
Dick Coffee Enterprises

Monica Crews
CGS Volunteer

Micki Glass
CGS Volunteer/Friendship Group Leader

Carla McEwen
SouthPoint Bank

Janice Rogers
FOX 6 News Anchor/Good Day Alabama

Susan W. Tieszen, M. Ed.
Community Volunteer

Claudia Williams, Ed. D
Adjunct Professor

Advisory Council

Members of the Advisory Council are individuals who hold or have held positions of responsibility in the community. They serve as a resource to communicate the work of CGS and provide advice and support resources to our Board and staff. Many are former CGS Board members.

Charles E. Alexander, DDiv

Linda Bachus
Civic Leader

Carlton Baker

Peggy G. Balliet
Civic Leader

Dr. Neal Berte Birmingham-Southern College

Judge Sharon Blackburn
US District Court

Lois A. Caldwell
Canterbury United Methodist Church

Charles Chamblee

C. Fred Daniels
Cabaniss Johnston

John P. Darnall, III

Trudie F. Gruman, RN
St. Vincent’s Hospital

Anne Hightower
Civic Leader

Dr. Ed Hurley
South Highland Presbyterian Church

Susan Jackson
Ingram & Associates

Frank Jones

Maureen F. Jordan

Charles “Chuck” King

Scott McBrayer
City of Homewood

Rev. Peggy A. McClure

Thomas Mahoney
Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell, & Berkowitz

Sadis Matalon, PhD
UAB Dept. of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medical

Rabbi Jonathan Miller
Temple Emanu-El

Barbara Moore

Thomas Michael “Mickey” Morgan, EdD

Thomas I. Nelson

Robby E. Owens

Lee Ann Riesenberg, PhD
UAB Dept. of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medical

Ben Schillaci
Carr, Riggs & Ingram, LLC

Terry Slaughter
Devote Studio

Rev. R. Craig Smalley
Cathedral Church of the Advent

J. Terrell Spencer, MD

Dr. Bob S. Terry, DMin
Alabama Baptist

Judge Scott Vowell
Vowell & Godsmith, LLC

Andrew Westmoreland, EdD
Samford University

Odessa Woolfolk
Birmingham Civil Rights Institute